Why were missions established in California?

Answer The 21 California missions were established by Spanish missionaries of the Catholic Church's Franciscan order from 1769 to 1823. The purpose was to establish outposts of the Spanish empire in Calif... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Why were missions established in California

Why were California missions started?

The Spanish built the missions in what is now California between 1769 and 1823. The Spanish had a system of missions in place in other colonial territories, including Lower (Baja) California, now p... Read More »

How were indians buried at california missions?

Tens of thousands of Indian burials took place at or near California missions. Spanish missionaries intentionally killed many Indians who rebelled and unintentionally infected the rest with disease... Read More »

Who built the California missions?

The 21 California missions were founded by Catholic missionaries from Spain. They were primarily built through the physical labor of Indians. The Indians were the native peoples in the region, and... Read More »

Who founded the California Missions?

The California Missions were founded by Father Junipero Serra in 1769. Serra was a Franciscan missionary sent by King Charles III of Spain to settle land in California as a Spanish territory.Sourc... Read More »