Why were Mark Twain's books banned?

Answer Those with ability to restrict book distribution have sometimes banned Mark Twain's books, particularly "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer" and "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn." Reasons include matt... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Why were Mark Twain's books banned

How to Appreciate Banned Books?

Read this list of books; They all have one thing in common:Harry Potter (series), by J.K. Rowling; Alice series, by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor; The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier; Of Mice and Men, b... Read More »

How many books are banned each year?

According to the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom, 420 books were reported banned in 2007. Between 1990 and 2008, there were 9,600 book challenges. For every book chal... Read More »

What was the first year that Banned Books Week was celebrated?

The first Banned Books Week was held in 1982. Observed annually during the last week in September, Banned Books Week celebrates intellectual freedom, and according to the American Library Associati... Read More »

How many books did Mark Twain write?

Samuel Langhorne Clemens adopted the pseudonym Mark Twain in 1863. His writing career produced 24 books; nine of those books were non-fiction. He also wrote 34 short stories, 43 essays, and one poe... Read More »