Which supreme court justice did taft nominate?

Answer President William H. Taft appointed six justices to the Supreme Court. Chief Justice Edward White served from 1910 until 1921. President Taft also nominated associate justices Horace Lurton, Charle... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Which supreme court justice did taft nominate

How long does a justice of the Supreme Court remain a member of the court?

The United States Constitution stipulates that a U.S. Supreme Court justice holds his position "during good behaviour," explains the Supreme Court's official website. This means once she assumes he... Read More »

What Is the Job of the Supreme Court Justice?

The U.S. Supreme Court is the nation's highest court. Its primary responsibility is to determine the constitutionality of legislation passed by Congress and state legislatures and the constitutiona... Read More »

How old must you be to be a Supreme Court justice?

There is no age requirement to become a Supreme Court justice, according to the U.S. Constitution. There also are no particular educational or professional requirements, although all justices have ... Read More »

Who was the 1st U.S. Supreme Court chief justice?

John Jay served as the first chief justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. He was appointed by George Washington in 1789 and served until 1795. Jay also served as the governor of New York and co-authore... Read More »