Which of the Hawaiian Islands is farthest south?

Answer The Island of Hawai'i is the most southern of the Hawaiian Islands. The same hot spot that continues to form this island has begun forming a seamount named Lo'ihi Seamount. This new seamount may ev... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Which of the Hawaiian Islands is farthest south

How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

How many islands make up the Hawaiian Islands?

There are nine main Hawaiian islands and an additional nine Northwest Hawaiian Islands, for a total of 18. If the various rocks and islets in the area are also included, there are as many as 130 is... Read More »

Where do the Hawaiian Islands lie?

Hawaii is located in the northern Pacific Ocean approximately 2,400 miles WSW of San Francisco, California. The state's geographic center is off Maui at latitude 20 degrees 15 minutes N and longitu... Read More »

How old are the Hawaiian Islands?

Hawaii is an archipelago of islands in the Pacific Ocean, known for its four largest ones. Kauai is the oldest, formed as a volcano about 5 million years ago. The volcanoes on Oahu, Maui and Hawai'... Read More »