Which of the Hawaiian Islands has active volcanoes?

Answer Both the Island of Hawai'i and Maui have active volcanoes. Kilauea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai are considered active volcanoes on the island of Hawai'i, with Kilauea erupting continuously since 1983. O... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Which of the Hawaiian Islands has active volcanoes

Active Volcanoes in the Hawaiian Islands?

The Hawaiian islands are home to the world's most active volcanoes, including the earth's largest volcano. No wonder that native Hawaiians honor Pele, the goddess of fire, dwelling within the crate... Read More »

How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

How many islands make up the Hawaiian Islands?

There are nine main Hawaiian islands and an additional nine Northwest Hawaiian Islands, for a total of 18. If the various rocks and islets in the area are also included, there are as many as 130 is... Read More »

What are the seven Hawaiian Islands?

Hawaii consists of eight major islands, though only six are inhabited: the Big Island of Hawaii, Maui, Lanai, Kauai, Oahu and Molokai. Kahoolawe is uninhabited and Niihau is a privately owned islan... Read More »