What country do the galapagos islands belong to?

Answer The Galapagos Islands, consisting of 19 islands and more than 40 islets, belong to Ecuador, which is located in northwestern South America. The Galapagos lie in a tropical storm-free zone and repre... Read More »

Top Q&A For: What country do the galapagos islands belong to

Where is Galapagos Island?

The Galapagos Islands are located in the Pacific Ocean about 600 miles west of Ecuador in South America. The Galapagos coordinates are 1° 40' N, 1° 36' S, 89° 16' E and 92° 01' W, which means t... Read More »

Where do Galapagos butterflies live?

There are several species of Galapagos butterflies, including the Galápagos silver fritillary and Galapagos sulphur butterfly. These species live on the Galapagos Islands, located in the Pacific O... Read More »

How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

How many islands are there in the Republic of the Fiji Islands?

There are a total of 332 islands that make up the Republic of the Fiji Islands in the Pacific Ocean. The capital city of Suva is located on the island of Viti Levu and, with a population of 247,000... Read More »