Who built Mount Rushmore in South Dakota?

Answer Sculptor Gutzon Borglum, who had worked on the Stone Mountain monument in Georgia, was the creator of the Mount Rushmore National Memorial. Work on the sculpture began in 1927. While many others, i... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Who built Mount Rushmore in South Dakota

When was Mount Rushmore carved?

Work on Mount Rushmore first began on October 4, 1927. George Washington was the first president carved at the South Dakota site by Gutzon Borglum. Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham ... Read More »

When was Mount Rushmore started?

According to America's Library, carving for The Mount Rushmore National Memorial began in 1927 and lasted for 14 years. Each president was completed before the next: "Washington in 1930, Jefferson ... Read More »

Who is pictured on Mount Rushmore?

George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt are the four people pictured on Mount Rushmore. They were the first, third, 16th and 26th presidents of the United States... Read More »

Mount Rushmore Classroom Activities?

Mount Rushmore, originally suggested in 1923 by Doane Robinson, a South Dakota state historian, was completed by Oct. 31, 1941. This monument, sculpted into the side of the Black Hills, was created... Read More »