When did the French have control of Southeast Asia?

Answer French control in Southeast Asia began in August 1858, when a task force sent by Napoleon III arrived at Da Nang. In 1863 the French gained control of Cambodia, followed by Laos in 1893. The Battle... Read More »

Top Q&A For: When did the French have control of Southeast Asia

When did Europeans arrive in Southeast Asia?

European arrival in Southeast Asia began with Portugal's discovery of the Philippines in 1512. In 1565 Spain planted its first colony there, near Cebu, and European missionaries spread from there i... Read More »

Is Thailand in Southeast Asia?

Thailand is one of the 10 countries that make up Southeast Asia. It borders Burma, Laos, Cambodia and Malaysia. The other five countries of Southeast Asia are Brunei, Indonesia, Philippines, Singap... Read More »

How many countries are in Southeast Asia?

There are a total of 10 countries in the southeast Asia region, which extends south from China and north from Australia: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore... Read More »

Travel Checklist for Southeast Asia?

Now that you know Southeast Asia is your destination, there are a few things besides an airline ticket and hotel reservations that you need to ensure a good travel experience. Start early to get al... Read More »