When did all of the islands of Hawaii become a state?

Answer President Eisenhower signed the Hawaii Statehood Admission Act into law on March 18th 1959, making the archipelago of eight Hawaiian Islands the 50th U.S. state. Hawaii is the newest of the U.S. st... Read More »

Top Q&A For: When did all of the islands of Hawaii become a ...

How many islands make up the state of Hawaii?

The state of Hawaii is made up of nine main islands: Oahu, Hawaii, Niihau, Molokai, Lanai, Maui, Kauai, Kahoolawe and Kaala. There are also nine other land masses that are included as part of Hawai... Read More »

How big is Hawaii with all the islands put together?

The state of Hawaii is made up of eight islands. According to the U.S. Census Bureau for the year 2000, the land area encompassing all of the islands measures 6,422.62 square miles.Source:U.S. Cens... Read More »

How many islands are part of Hawaii?

Hawaii is made up of eight main islands and several smaller, uninhabited islets. The state's main islands are: Oahu, Maui, Kauai, the Big Island of Hawaii, Niihau, Molokai, Lanai and Kahoolawe.Sour... Read More »

Why was Hawaii known as the Sandwich Islands?

As European adventurers explored the Western world, they often named new lands after their royal or noble patrons who financed the expeditions. Besides the lure of treasure and natural resources, t... Read More »