How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Answer Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

Top Q&A For: How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian ...

How many islands make up the Hawaiian Islands?

There are nine main Hawaiian islands and an additional nine Northwest Hawaiian Islands, for a total of 18. If the various rocks and islets in the area are also included, there are as many as 130 is... Read More »

What are the seven Hawaiian Islands?

Hawaii consists of eight major islands, though only six are inhabited: the Big Island of Hawaii, Maui, Lanai, Kauai, Oahu and Molokai. Kahoolawe is uninhabited and Niihau is a privately owned islan... Read More »

What are the Hawaiian Islands included in?

The Hawaiian Islands are included as a single state in the United States. Hawaii is made up of eight main islands: the Big Island of Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Kauai, Lanai, Maui, Molokai, Niihau and Oahu.... Read More »

What was the original name of the hawaiian islands?

The original name of the Hawaiian islands is said to have been Hawaiki, after the traditional home of the Polynesians. It was also dubbed the "Sandwich Islands" in 1778 by British captain James Coo... Read More »