What Are the Unemployment Tier Categories?

Answer For years, unemployment compensation insurance provided a maximum of 26 weeks of benefits for qualifying individuals in most states. With unemployment high nationwide in 2011, the federal governmen... Read More »

Top Q&A For: What Are the Unemployment Tier Categories

How Can I Know If I Have Used My 4th Tier Unemployment Benefits?

The 4th tier of unemployment benefits provides an additional six weeks of payments to individuals who exhaust their first three tiers of benefits under the emergency unemployment compensation progr... Read More »

How to Update Tier 4 Unemployment?

Normally, unemployment insurance is capped at 26 weeks for claimants. However, in times of high unemployment, the government may step in and approve additional extensions. As of 2011, four addition... Read More »

How Much Can I Get Each Week on Tier 2 Unemployment?

As a response to the swelling unemployment rate following the stock market crash of 2008, Congress authorized a temporary emergency unemployment compensation program to provide unemployment insuran... Read More »

Do I Qualify for Tier 3 of New Jersey Unemployment?

The third tier of federal unemployment extensions is only available in states with the requirement unemployment rates and during the times Congress has set laws enabling it. Whether you qualify dep... Read More »