How to File a Small Claim in New York State Court?

Answer The State of New York allows you to sue for up to $5,000 in most courts. Town and Village Courts allow you to sue for up to $3,000. You and the person you are suing must be at least 18 years old. I... Read More »

Top Q&A For: How to File a Small Claim in New York State Court

Is there a fee to file a claim in small claims court?

There may be a small court filing fee in some states, so you will want to check with the specific court. You also have to serve the complaint and show proof that you did so. Law enforcement branche... Read More »

How Do I File a Claim in Yancey County, North Carolina, Small Claims Court?

A small claims suit may be brought for a variety of reasons. Claims involving tenant/landlord disputes, automobile accidents and property damage can be settled in small claims court. A claim can be... Read More »

How to Recover Unpaid Wages Through Small Claims Court in New York State?

You can file a claim in the small claims courts of New York state to get money an employer owes you for unpaid wages. Small claims in New York cannot exceed $3,000 in town and village courts, or $5... Read More »

How to Do a Claim in a Small Court in Manchester, New Hampshire?

Feuding parties can settle a dispute in small claims court if the plaintiff is seeking a small amount of money. The maximum amount this court can award varies by state. Small claims courts in Manch... Read More »