How many supreme court justices were there in 1919?

Answer Nine justices were seated on the U.S. Supreme Court in 1919. Edward D. White of Louisiana served as chief justice. The associate justices in 1919 were Willis Van Devanter, Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr... Read More »

Top Q&A For: How many supreme court justices were there in 1919

How many Supreme Court Chief Justices have there been in the history of the Supreme Court?

Seventeen men have served as Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court. The first was John Jay, appointed in 1789. The current Chief Justice is John G. Roberts, Jr. appointed in 2005.Referen... Read More »

How many supreme court justices are there in our federal court system?

The U.S. Constitution calls for nine justices--a chief justice and eight associate justices--to sit on the Supreme Court, the highest court in the federal judiciary. The president nominates these j... Read More »

How do Illinois Supreme Court justices get seats on the court?

The Illinois Supreme Court is the highest court in the state of Illinois. The only court in the U.S. that can overrule its rulings is the United States Supreme Court in Washington, D.C.Illinois Sup... Read More »

How Many Justices on the U.S. Supreme Court Are There?

Eight associate justices and one chief justice make up the nine members of the Supreme Court of the United States. Once Congress confirms a justice to the court, the justice holds the seat for life... Read More »