How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Answer Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

Top Q&A For: How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian ...

How many islands make up the Hawaiian Islands?

There are nine main Hawaiian islands and an additional nine Northwest Hawaiian Islands, for a total of 18. If the various rocks and islets in the area are also included, there are as many as 130 is... Read More »

How many islands& atolls make up Hawaii?

Hawaii is made up of 132 islands. This breaks down to eight main islands and 124 minor islands, reefs and shoals. The eight main islands are Oahu, Maui, Hawaii, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and... Read More »

Where do the Hawaiian Islands lie?

Hawaii is located in the northern Pacific Ocean approximately 2,400 miles WSW of San Francisco, California. The state's geographic center is off Maui at latitude 20 degrees 15 minutes N and longitu... Read More »

What are the seven Hawaiian Islands?

Hawaii consists of eight major islands, though only six are inhabited: the Big Island of Hawaii, Maui, Lanai, Kauai, Oahu and Molokai. Kahoolawe is uninhabited and Niihau is a privately owned islan... Read More »