How many islands are there in the Hawaiian chain?

Answer The Hawaiian Islands consist of eight volcanic islands. The islands' individual names are Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Maui, Kahoolawe and Hawaii. Hawaii is the largest of the islands, and ... Read More »

Top Q&A For: How many islands are there in the Hawaiian chain

How many main Hawaiian islands are there?

Hawaii, the 50th state, has eight main islands. They are Hawaii (the Big Island), Kauai, Maui, Oahu, Lanai, Niihau, Molokai and Kahoolawe. Famous for its pineapples, Hawaii is the most isolated pop... Read More »

How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

How many islands make up the Hawaiian Islands?

There are nine main Hawaiian islands and an additional nine Northwest Hawaiian Islands, for a total of 18. If the various rocks and islets in the area are also included, there are as many as 130 is... Read More »

How many years did it take to form the Hawaiian Islands?

The Hawaiian Islands formed volcanically over several million years and are part of a larger island chain ranging from Midway Island in the central Pacific up to the Aleutian islands off the coast ... Read More »