How many california missions are there?

Answer There are 21 California missions. The first one founded was Mission San Diego de Alcala, established in 1769. Mission San Luis Rey was the final mission founded, in 1798. They are now a part of the... Read More »

Top Q&A For: How many california missions are there

Who lived in the California missions?

The California Missions were originally built to house Spanish missionaries. The king of Spain sent the missionaries to California to teach the Catholic religion to the local Native American popula... Read More »

Why were missions established in California?

The 21 California missions were established by Spanish missionaries of the Catholic Church's Franciscan order from 1769 to 1823. The purpose was to establish outposts of the Spanish empire in Calif... Read More »

When did the California missions start and end?

According to the California State Parks Department, the first of the 21 state missions, the San Diego de Alcala, began on July 16, 1769. The last mission, San Francisco Solano, was founded on July ... Read More »

Who built the California missions?

The 21 California missions were founded by Catholic missionaries from Spain. They were primarily built through the physical labor of Indians. The Indians were the native peoples in the region, and... Read More »