Hawaiian Islands History?

Answer The Hawaiian Islands are an archipelago of eight major islands and numerous smaller islands and atolls with a human history that likely dates back to 100 AD. The islands were unified in 1810, and b... Read More »

Top Q&A For: Hawaiian Islands History

How many islands& atolls comprise the Hawaiian islands?

Hawaii's eight main islands--Hawaii, Kahoolawe, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai and Niihau--make up 99 percent of its land mass. Of these, Hawaii is the largest, Kahoolawe is uninhabited, and Nii... Read More »

How many islands make up the Hawaiian Islands?

There are nine main Hawaiian islands and an additional nine Northwest Hawaiian Islands, for a total of 18. If the various rocks and islets in the area are also included, there are as many as 130 is... Read More »

How old are the Hawaiian Islands?

Hawaii is an archipelago of islands in the Pacific Ocean, known for its four largest ones. Kauai is the oldest, formed as a volcano about 5 million years ago. The volcanoes on Oahu, Maui and Hawai'... Read More »

Why are the Hawaiian islands in a line?

The Hawaiian islands formed when the tectonic Pacific Plate moved slowly over the Hawaiian hot spot, a flow of molten lava below the Pacific Ocean. As the tectonic plate moved northwest in a linear... Read More »