Age for contact of adopted child from birth parents in Illinois?

Answer The 30 days time limit refers to 30 business days (normal 5 day week) and excludes weekends and holidays.

Top Q&A For: Age for contact of adopted child from birth par...

Is it illegal for an outsider to tell an adopted child who is still under aged the whereabouts of his birth parents or tell the birth parents the whereabouts of the adopted child?

That can be extremely harmful for the child. If that was my child I would forbid you to ever see him again. That would be breaking a trust. If you have the need to tell you wait until they are 18 a... Read More »

If you are the parent of an adopted child will their birth parents be able to take them away?

Answer In most states, as long as the proper paperwork in filed and the adoption is finalized, the birth parent cannot take the adopted child away. In some states, there is a 6 month to 1 year peri... Read More »

What rights does a adopted child have to find their birth parents?

There is no law saying they can or can't search for their birth parents if that's what you mean. Is it a good idea to? That depends on how much you know about the birth parents. I think the best th... Read More »

What rights does an adopted child in the state of New Jersey have in terms of finding out about their birth-parents?

In Jefferson County NY, for an uncontested step-parent adoption, I was quoted $1500 + the $150 fee for the home study. Relatively cheap compared to what I've researched in other states. Good luck!